Scythe by Neal Shusterman 9.5/10

Hi book dragons!

Sorry for the day late post, I have a ton of stuff going on at the moment, but I am thrilled to be able to share this novel with you all.  If you are struggling to find that next great summer read, seriously look no further.  This was one of the best books I have read in a very long time and I highly recommend it.

 I could not say any more wonderful things about this novel if I wanted to or if I tried to. I was completely enthralled in the story of the main characters as well as the side characters. I obviously did not like all of the characters, but all of them were dynamic. The character development in the two main characters was incredible. With Citra, the change was much more subtle. Her story wasn’t as extreme as Rowan’s in my opinion. Rowan’s change was horrifying, yet enthralling. He didn’t change completely, but it was just enough that not only scared me as the reader, but also scared him. I also loved the concept. I never really though about reapers in that way and it really gave me a new appreciation for being able to die and feel pain. I wouldn’t want to live in a world of immortals and a world without pain. Everything in this world has consequences and I appreciate the fact that nothing can just go around and do whatever they want without paying for it in one way or another. This book opened my eyes to the world that I would not want to be part of.

 I greatly enjoyed Neal Shusterman’s writing style this time. I was a little off put by it last time, but I think that had greatly to do with the plot of the last novel by him. I had no issues keeping story lines straight and I had no issues keeping character’s straight. I normally have issues with multiple characters and getting them mixed up or forgetting completely who they are, but the plot did not jump around without explaining the cause of the jump first and that helped immensely with keeping everything in chronological order. The plot twists throughout the entire book kept me on my toes. I had no idea what was going to happen next and I loved it. I also loved how the boy and the girl did not end up together at the end of the book. That was something I was expecting, but I was pleasantly surprised that that was not the case here.  

And as always, I love you, you should love you, and I’ll talk to you next time.

Leave a Reply

