Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope Perez 8/10

Hi book dragons!

So thanks to finals week, I was only able to read one book this week.  I am, however, most of the way through the first book this week already haha

TLDR: I had a lot of very strong emotions while reading this book.  It was very well written, but the story itself made me sick.  I cannot handle racism very well so reading about it makes me angry.  I do highly reccomend it though!

 I have very strong feelings about this book. It took me a little while to really become invested in the characters, but I ended up really liking Wash, Naomi, Beto, and Cari. I obviously had very strong feelings of resentment towards Henry and also toward Estella for letting Henry treat her poorly in front of Naomi and for ultimately causing her death. I understand that during this time period, it was normal for a woman to do everything for her husband, but I have never agreed with it and it makes me sick to read about it. I enjoyed this book, but by the end, I was very upset and physically pained. Reading about and witnessing racism and sexism makes me ill because of how much I despise it and how much I wish I could stop it. That obviously means that it was very well written and I know it was meant to create resentment and to teach a story. It was still difficult to read, though. 

 I think this book would be a great teaching tool for high school history classes. It’s always one thing to read about a time period in a textbook, but they are always very dry and boring. This brings history to life and it shows first hand the type of abuse that some people lived through as well as the backgrounds of the people who did the abusing. I think this would be better in an actual classroom setting as opposed to a public library setting. I do not think it would be appropriate for middle school students to read. It has some very adult concepts such as rape and the very graphic dismembered children and that might be a little much for a younger audience to handle. I do think it will invoke strong feelings in high schoolers as it did with me. 

And as always, I love you, you should love you, and I’ll talk to you next time!

Leave a Reply

